BACK TO HOME PAGE SITE NAVIGATION CONTACT POETRY FORUM STORY FORUM   Horoscope  Radio  Gallery  FAQ   Search   Memberlist   Usergroups   Register   Profile   PM's   

General Forum Index -> Coming Out....

gay doctor

Ladies Lifestyle and Living Store
  Author    Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
jolifemme

gay doctor

well,i am a medical student n i wonder how the community would accept a doctor who is gay.i have been in love with a girls for 3 years but we din tell anyone about it.we will wait for the right time to tell everyone...but the thing is not easy cuz our parents will surely reject us plus if i work as a doctor it will put an end to my career(hopefully it wont be like that).but i also dont want to hide it cuz it is very hard n hurtful cuz i am not who i am!! Sad
i wish we don have to hide our relationship one day and i can pratice as a doctor cuz i have passion on it.so what am i suppose to do n how should i plan my future?i really don wanna give up either one of them(my gf n my profession)

thanks for reading...

Post Fri Jun 23, 2006 1:10 pm 
pinklayla

Jolie,

I am wondering where you are from/ where you reside and what predominant cultural attitudes at are work? I work at a large university medical center in the southern United States of America. Medical staff here are very diverse. The institution actively recruits members of the gay/lesbian community as patients and employees. HR offers domestic partnership benefits. It is a very supportive environment.

Some patients seek out providers who they feel have a good understanding of their life and their health concerns. (I.E. gay women seeking out a lesbian physician).

Other patients are usually not aware. They are only concerned that their doctor is competent, responsive and compassionate.

Post Fri Jun 23, 2006 5:18 pm 
Dueceswild